stryperweb.com
styperizing the web

What this song means, to me.

I distinctly remember hearing this song come on the radio as my mother and I were driving home after dropping my father off at the airport. It was so appropriate. I could see mom crying but I just looked out the window and watched the trees go by. He was going to Okinawa for a year. I wanted to go with him, I wanted to see Japan so much.

He ended up in Kuwait after a few months for Desert Storm. I was in 11th grade. That was the first time I ever thought to myself, “what if my father dies”? I prayed that he would come home safely one day, and for the first time ever, heard an answer:

“He will come home”.

I accepted Christ as my savior that very moment.

Leaving On A Jet Plane – by John Denver

All my bags are packed
I’m ready to go
I’m standin here outside your door
I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
But the dawn is breakin
It’s early morn
The taxi’s waitin
He’s blowin his horn
Already I’m so lonesome
I could die

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
cause I’m leavin on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

There’s so many times I’ve let you down
So many times I’ve played around
I tell you now, they don’t mean a thing
Every place I go, I’ll think of you
Every song I sing, I’ll sing for you
When I come back, I’ll bring your wedding ring

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
cause I’m leavin on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

Now the time has come to leave you
One more time
Let me kiss you
Then close your eyes
I’ll be on my way
Dream about the days to come
When I won’t have to leave alone
About the times, I won’t have to say

Oh, kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
cause I’m leavin on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

But, I’m leavin on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

John Denver

My father came home one year later.

No Responses to “What this song means, to me.”

Leave a Reply

